Teaching and Learning Kit for BIM Viewer Training

Background

In 2020, the CIC and DEVB had conducted a holistic review and planning of BIM training for the construction industry in Hong Kong. It was estimated that BIM personnel with BIM viewing skill (called "BIM Viewers" hereafter) is in high demand.

 

To cope with the surged demand of BIM Viewers, the CIC developed a "Teaching and Learning Kit" (the "Kit") for BIM Viewer training. BIM Viewer is a role of those who needs to view and understand the BIM model. For example, Senior Management of an organisation, Project Manager, site supervisor, regulator, can take up this BIM Viewer role and needs to possess this basic knowledge and skill using PC, tablet, or mobile device effectively in a manner similar to reading 2D drawings on site.

 

Learning Outcome

Upon completion of the BIM Viewer training through instructor-led teaching course or self-learning, practitioners should be able to:

  • Understand what is BIM
  • Understand CIC's Resources for Practitioners
  • Understand there are different Common BIM Viewer Software (Free/charged)
  • Understand basic BIM workflow and standardisation of data
  • Open a BIM model
  • Navigate, select items and find information within a BIM model
  • Cut section within a BIM model
  • Measure dimensions within a BIM model
  • Mark comments within a BIM model

How to use the Teaching and Learning Kit

As an illustration and hands-on exercise of BIM viewer, two free BIM viewer software (Trimble Connect and Navisworks Freedom) are included in the Kit as two separate packages, practitioners can select either software or other BIM viewer software for their training.  After being familiarised with anyone BIM viewer software, practitioners should be able to use other BIM viewer software as their core functions are similar. 

 

The Kit includes the following documents/content:

(a)       A set of PowerPoint files that could be used as instructor-led teaching or self-learning materials for BIM viewer training. In the October 2021 edition of this kit, the set of PowerPoint files include the following modules:

  • Module 1: introduction of BIM
  • Module 2A: Hands-on BIM Viewer software training (BIM Viewer Software - Trimble Connect)
  • Module 2B: Hands-on BIM Viewer software training (BIM Viewer Software – Navisworks Freedom)
  • Module 3: Workflow and Project Information Standard

Please note that “Module 3: Workflow and Project Information Standard” is for extended learning and will not be tested in the online quiz.

(b)        A sample BIM model of the CIC Zero Carbon Building (.nwd or .ifc) for hands-on exercise.

 

Self Photos / Files - How to use the Teaching and Learning Kit

 

Self-Learner should expect to spend around 2 to 3 hours to complete the training. Below is a sample learning sequence:

Module 1: Introduction → Module 2A: BIM Viewer Software - Trimble Connect → Module 3: Workflow and Project Information Standards

→ BIM Viewer Exam (Trimble Connect)

 

Online Quiz and BIM Viewer Certificate

After completing the training through self-learning or taught course, practitioners could participate in a CIC online BIM Viewer Quiz and able to obtain a BIM Viewer Certificate.

 

The online quiz consists of 20 questions to test the ability and knowledge of BIM viewing and commenting skills of practitioners. If practitioners successfully obtain a minimum score of 60% (12 out of 20 questions), a BIM Viewer Certificate will be issued and sent directly to their email addresses registered for the quiz.

 

The link to the quiz can be found below:

BIM Viewer Quiz (IFC Compatible Software)

https://www.classmarker.com/online-test/start/?quiz=hdn615fee065fb92

BIM Viewer Quiz (Trimble Connect)

https://www.classmarker.com/online-test/start/?quiz=kay6152cf37d7d77

BIM Viewer Quiz (Navisworks Freedom)

https://www.classmarker.com/online-test/start/?quiz=py36152737d6aac6

 

Remark: It is suggested that completion of the online BIM Viewer Quiz counts for 1 CPD hour.

Self-learning vs Instructor-led

The Kit is intended for both self-learning and instructor-led training. While the target learning outcome and the content of the online quiz will be the same, trainers are encouraged to tailor the training materials based on the needs of the organisation or project. Trainers can select other BIM viewer software for the instructor-led training to match the software used in the project or organisation.

 

If you have developed any teaching material and test for other BIM viewers and are willing to share it with the industry, please contact us at bim@cic.hk, and we will consider incorporating it into the online quiz.

 

Enquiries

For any enquiries, please contact bim@cic.hk.

 

Disclaimer

The information contained in this Training Kit is compiled by the Construction Industry Council (CIC) for general information only. Whilst CIC endeavours to ensure the accuracy of this general information, no statement, representation, warranty or guarantee, express or implied, is given as to its accuracy or appropriateness for use in any particular circumstances.

This Training Kit and material relating to information, products and services (or to third party information, products and services), is provided 'as is', without any representation or endorsement made and without warranty of any kind whether express or implied, including, but not limited to, the implied warranties of satisfactory quality, fitness for a particular purpose, non-infringement, compatibility, security, completeness and accuracy.

In no event will CIC be liable for any expense, loss or damage including, without limitation, indirect or consequential loss or damage, or any expense, loss or damage whatsoever arising from use, or loss of use, of data, or loss of profits, arising out of or in connection with the use of this website, or reliance on its content.

This Training Kit is not a substitute for independent professional advice and users should obtain any appropriate professional advice relevant to their particular circumstances.

This Training Kit can also contain information contributed by others over whom, and in respect of which, CIC may have no influence. Users may link from this Training Kit to sites provided by others. CIC expressly states that it has not approved or endorsed the information provided by others on this Training Kit or any other sites linked to this Training Kit and CIC accepts no responsibility or liability (howsoever caused) for such information.

 

Remark

1. The CIC maintains a software-neutral stance in supporting the industry for BIM adoption. The BIM viewer software/platform used in the Kit served as examples for learners. 

2. The CIC invites all software vendors to share training materials for their free BIM Viewer software with the industry. 
Other organisations are also welcome to develop their own BIM viewer training based on other software/platforms and contribute to the CIC for sharing.

3. Please email bim@cic.hk for more details.

 

Download

To download the resource, please visit: https://bim.cic.hk/en/resources/publications?cate=52

建筑信息模拟阅览员教学资源套件

背景

2020 年,发展局和议会对香港建造业的建筑信息模拟(下称BIM )培训进行了整体评估和规划”。预计到 2025 年底,对拥有BIM閲览能力的BIM人员(下称”BIM閲览员”)的需求量将达到 17,000 人左右。

 

为应对 BIM 閲览员增加的需求,议会为 BIM閲览员开发了教学资源套件。 BIM 閲览员应具备基础 BIM 知识,例如使用 桌面电脑、平板电脑或移动设备,以类似于在现场阅读 2D 图纸的方式有效查看 BIM 模型。

 

学习成果

透过使用建筑信息模拟阅览员教学资源套件(下称” 教学 套件”)身自学或完成使用套件教授的BIM閲览员培训后,BIM人员应能够:

  • 了解什么是 BIM
  • 了解议会为从业员而设的资源
  • 了解有不同的BIM 阅览平台/软件(免费/收费)
  • 了解基本的 BIM 工作流程和数据标准化
  • 打开 BIM 模型
  • 在BIM 模型中导航,选择项目和查看资料
  • 在BIM 模型中切割剖面
  • 在BIM 模型中测量尺寸
  • 在BIM 模型中标记评论

如何使用教学资源套件

作为示范,本教学套件包含三个免费的 BIM 阅览平台/软件(Trimble Connect , Navisworks Freedom和ArcGIS Online)作为两个独立的教学套件,从业员亦可以自由选择其他 BIM 阅览平台/软件进行培训。

教学套件包括以下文件/内容:

(a) 一系列幻灯片文件,可用作 BIM 閲览员培训的教材或自学材料。截至 2021 年 10 月,幻灯片文件包括以下模组:

  • 模组 1:BIM 简介
  • 模组 2A:BIM阅览软件操作培训(BIM阅览软件 – Trimble Connect)
  • 模组 2B:BIM阅览软件操作培训(BIM阅览软件 – Navisworks Freedom)
  • 模组 2C:BIM阅览软件操作培训(BIM阅览软件 – ArcGIS Online)
  • 模组 3:工作流程及资讯标准

请注意,“模组 3:工作流程及资讯标准”适用于扩展学习,并不会包括在BIM閲览员缐上测验之中。

 

(b) 用于操作培训的建造业零碳天地示例 BIM 模型(.nwd 或 .ifc)。

(注:请幻灯片文件中的示下载模组2C中的示例 BIM 模型(.slpk

 

自学者一般需要 2-3 个小时来完成培训。以下是示例学习顺序:

Self Photos / Files - How to use the Teaching and Learning Kit (update20220718)

 

模组 1:BIM 简介 → 模组 2A:BIM阅览软件操作培训(BIM阅览软件- Trimble Connect) → 模组 3:工作流程及资讯标准 → 建筑信息模拟阅览员测验 (Trimble Connect)

 

缐上测验和 BIM 阅览员证书

完成自学或培训后,从业员可以参加缐上测验,获取BIM 阅览员证书。 缐上测验包括20条题目,测试从业员阅览和评论BIM模型的技巧能力和知识。如果从业员成功获得 60% 或以上的分数(20 题问题中答对的 12 题或以上),BIM 阅览员证书将直接发送到从业员登记的电子邮件。

以下为缐上测验的链接:

建筑信息模拟阅览员测验 (IFC兼容软件)

https://www.classmarker.com/online-test/start/?quiz=hdn615fee065fb92

建筑信息模拟阅览员测验(Trimble Connect

https://www.classmarker.com/online-test/start/?quiz=kay6152cf37d7d77

建筑信息模拟阅览员测验 (Navisworks Freedom)

https://www.classmarker.com/online-test/start/?quiz=py36152737d6aac6

建筑信息模拟阅览员测验 (ArcGIS Online)

https://www.classmarker.com/online-test/start/?quiz=3na625547fda7042

 

备註:建议完成建筑信息模拟阅览员缐上测验可获1小时持续专门发展时数。

自学与讲师主导

教学套件适用于自学和讲师指导的培训。自学和讲师指导的培训目标学习成果和缐上测验的内容相同。议会亦鼓励培训导师根据机构或 BIM 项目的需要定制培训材料。从业员亦可以自由选择其他 BIM 阅览平台/软件进行培训。请与我们联络(bimtraining@cic.hk)以便提供相关的BIM 阅览平台/软件测验题作参考。

 

建造业创新及科技基金 - 建筑信息模拟阅览员合办培训

申请资格
  • 缴付徵款的承建商
  • 註册专门行业承造商及註册分包商
  • 顾问

 

计划特点
  • 资助上限:每位申请者港币1,500,000元
  • 资助模式:可获70%配对资助
  • 资助上限:每班每节港币8,000元 ,以作导师费用和课程行政费之用
  • 资助上限:外部场地租用费用每班每节港币5,000元
  • 合资格导师必须已完成 议会认可的建筑信息模拟经理/建筑信息模拟协调员课程 或 议会认证的建筑信息模拟经理/建筑信息模拟协调员

 

申请
  • 建造业创新及科技基金全年接受申请
  • 提交前请先阅读下列文件:
    ✔️ 申请指南
    ✔️ 条款和条件
  • 备註:
    *新资助于2022年1月1日起生效。现行资助详情请参阅网页内(2021年8月版)的申请框架。

按此了解更多详情

 

查询

如有任何查询,请联络 bimtraining@cic.hk

 

免责声明

本教学资源套件载列的资料由建造业议会(议会)编制,只供一般参考。议会虽已尽力确保该等资料准确,但对于该等资料在任何特定情况下使用时的准确性或恰当性,并沒有作出任何明示或隐含的陈述、申述、保证或担保。

教学资源套件及有关资讯、产品和服务的材料(或有关第三者的资讯、产品和服务的材料),均以当前展示的形式提供,概无作出任何陈述或认可证明,亦概无作出任何类型、不论明示或隐含的担保,包括但不限于提供满意的质素、切合特定的目的、非侵权、兼容性、保安、完整性及准确性的隐含保证。

不论任何情况下,议会将不会就任何支出、损失或损毁,包括但不限于间接或相应而生的损失或损毁,或任何由使用数据或不使用数据而招致的任何支出、损失或损毁,或由使用本教学资源套件而导致的或与使用本教学资源套件有关的利润损失,或依赖有关内容而负上任何法律责任。

教学资源套件并非独立专业意见的代替品,各使用者应该在适用其特定情况下获取任何适当的专业意见。

本教学资源套件亦可能载有由其他人士或机构所提供的资料,而议会对该等人士或机构以及对该等资料并无影响力。使用者可从本教学资源件套连结至由其他人士或机构所提供的网站。议会现明文述明,议会并沒有核准或认可由其他人士或机构在本教学资源套件或与本教学资源套件连结的其他网站上所提供的资料,对于该等资料亦不承担任何责任或法律责任(不论该等责任是如何导致的)。

 

备註

1.议会在支援业界BIM应用方面保持软件中立的立场。教学资源套件中使用的BIM阅览软件/平台仅作示范。

2.议会邀请所有软件供应商与业界分享其免费BIM阅览软件/平台的培训材料。议会亦欢迎其他机构基于其他软件/平台开发自己的BIM阅览软件/平台培训,并贡献给议会以供分享。

3.请电邮至 bimtraining@cic.hk 了解更多细节。

 

下载

按此下载